13 July 2011

hestia8: (Default)
My ability to stick to a point is worse than usual, just to warn you. And yes, I know how bad it is normally.

I have this bad habit of comforting myself with the number of episodes that exist for my shows, should I feel like going back and watching them. Bad because, Spooks aside (86!!! Wow, I hope I’ve added that up right - I think so, though IMDB reckons Peter Firth's been in 82 of those episodes, which is wrong, surely?), the numbers are pretty pathetic. Luther – 10. Lewis – 20. The Shadow Line – 7. etc etc. NOT FAIR.

This thought brought to you by my considering a Fuck Yeah, Justin Ripley tumblr and then deciding the effort wouldn’t be worth it for the amount of screentime there is, and therefore I should just go and write fic instead. Except the fic in my head at the moment is total self-indulgent idfic that should stay in my head because it had ludicrous amounts of backstory (surprise!) and no plot. The fic that has plot is just stubbornly sitting there.

Also – and stop me if you’ve heard this one before – there aren’t enough characters in Luther. Hello, every single show I have ever been into *sigh*. So it’s either OCs or crossovers (cookies to anyone who can guess who I was going to cross over before I thought better of it) if I want them to talk to anyone other than work colleagues (John excepted, obviously). SIGH.

(shit, just thought of another crossover, AAARGH)

I was also going to do a Fuck Yeah, Music Videos tumblr, in the hope that there might be other people out there who like music videos as much as I do. But I’m not sure that’d be hugely different to just posting them here/on my tumblr, because no-one cares. Ah well (expect a music video post soon, basically).

In other news, I am going off on holiday next week. Am going to ask noisy neighbour man to keep an eye on things, plants are going in the bath and Dad is picking up the hanging basket to take to theirs. I have the laptop (I really want to finish some fic) but internet access could be iffy as my aunt and uncle are not terribly technical. Also we’ve got Pudding so how much time I can get on my own remains to be seen. I don’t think we’ve got that many concrete plans tbh, but nobody tells me anything.

I haven’t been doing much fandom stuff recently, beyond moaning about how I want to do more, because my brain is not working very well (lack of sleep due to medication/neighbours, pain/itching, etc etc). I am making an effort, anyway, and I am keeping up with work which is probably more important right now for getting another Level to get more money. And I am quite pleased that I’ve kept up with my exercise rather than giving up, because I know if I don’t it’ll be much harder to get back to it (for flexibility more than anything). Also my arms are looking good atm and I want to keep up with the weights.

I went with Dad to see Lesley’s parents on Sunday (Lesley was in China), and got given the job of going through their videotapes (all 66 of them), as they were all numbered but the book with what was on the tapes had been lost. A lot of the stuff seemed to be TV from 1998-2003, even though Lesley’s Dad claimed he hadn’t recorded anything since the mid 90s. Whoever was recording couldn’t use the timer, anyway – I had to go through SO MANY old episodes of Emmerdale/Coronation St/Eastenders to get to whatever was actually supposed to be there (WW2 documentaries, Clint Eastwood films and ITV dramas, mostly).

I had fun (as did Dad) but I’m still not sure why Lesley decided it was a job I should do (by which I mean she just told her parents to get me to do it). I mean, I get that a) I like boring stuff like that and b) I have a lot of patience for going through old TV stuff if I’m getting to be nostalgic at the same time, but it’s nothing her Dad couldn’t have done…

My face and neck continue to flare up really badly and then calm back down within the space of a day or two. It's so confusing, as there doesn't seem to be anything obvious that causes the flare-ups. Going to doctor when I am back. It would be nice to know what is causing it, and I will be pretty pissed off if at the end of it all the answer is ‘stress’.

Oh, and even when people are quiet and I get enough sleep, I don’t seem to feel the benefit. For fuck’s sake.

Basically at the moment I’m tired and miserable and I don’t know what’s going on. I am hoping that at some point soon things will get back to normal, or at least that I will find some way of treating this that works.

Hope you're all doing ok, anyway! I have been useless at keeping with lj and commenting at the moment. I will try to be better soon, though. I have no real excuse anymore, do I?

June 2017

M T W T F S S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags