Just some rambling. Please no spoilers past the 1002 trailer in comments. Thanks!
I do love the ‘betrayal is a cancer’ line.
WHHHHHYYY do they insist on using shots in the previews that weren’t in preceding episodes? Don’t they know how much that confuses some of us? (yes, by some of us, I do mean me)
Not that it makes any difference to anything, but I wonder if the two-man surveillance team on Harry noticed Sacha?
I love how the llady in the car doesn’t deny Harry was being trailed, but just tells him it was two men.
Sometimes I think my headcanon of how MI5 works in this show is ridiculous, and then I watch the show and think actually, yeah, it is full of backstabbers, bastards and psychopaths.
On second viewing, Harry’s bullshitting about why he handed over Albany for Ruth is just great. It is complete
nonsense, but just plausible enough to work.
Why do I keep thinking Erin’s surname is Grey? (OH WAIT, LUTHER, OF COURSE)
“I think he wanted your forgiveness.” Yep.
TOM!!!! It is Tom in those surveillance pictures!
IT’S ALWAYS THE RUSSIANS.
“Would it have killed you to have picked up a golf club once in a while?”
“It might well have done, yes.” – I love how many ways you can take this.
I love how they’re talking about Islamic terrorism when it’s all about the Russians.
Oh GOD, Erin. Just 1) I would imagine the order to bump Beth came from above (even if Erin agreed), and 2)
I bet she felt really awkward doing it. And yes, this is my first series 10 fic, I am writing it atm.
Dimitri’s a bit…casual this year. “She’ll loosen up after a few years.”
Oh, wait, he always was quite randomly casual, wasn’t he?
Ok, look, Callum is a bit of a twonk, but how on earth was he supposed to know that message was important with the information he was given?
I know people keep complaining about Erin’s hair, but I can’t actually get past ‘so pretty!! ^_^’
Er, apparently Harry was with MI6 in the early 80s. I was just about to type out a question about how he recruited Elena Gavrik if she was an MI6 asset and then the show totally confused me and answered me at the same time. This is news, isn't it? Or did it come up ages ago and I forgot?
At least Tariq got to do his job a bit in this episode.
Motion Analysis Filter? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WHATEVER.
Where is Dimitri when Erin tells Tariq to get him to meet them?
I am feeling the need to write some vaguely angsty Tariq/Dimitri where they broke up during the hiatus and neither of them are really talking to each other.
Ha, Calum’s such a twit. Yay for Dimitri being a paranoid loon.
“It’s like we were never here.” Dimitri <3
“Inside or outside this building, you represent this nation’s security services. And since I brought you here, you also represent me. Show some respect.”
“And when you brought me here, you knew I wouldn’t be doffing my cap to dead white males who still think they can run it all from their armchairs.”
Ok, 2 things:
a) Not sure Calum being the one to point out how white and male it all is quite works.
b) Does he say dead white males? Seriously? I don’t get it.
I would like to write something with Calum and Tariq but I’m not sure I could get the tone right. All I can think of for Calum at the moment is basically ‘unthinking twat’.
I love that one of the longest-running in jokes on this show is that nobody (except maybe Lucas) knocks before going in to Harry’s office.
I like the simplicity of the bug on Gavrik’s car. One of the things I do like about the later series is the mix of basic/classic spycraft and shiny shiny made up new tech.
“A special relationship with Russia?” Oh, poor old Harry.
“Oh, get your head out of the Cold War, Harry.” HA!
I hadn’t quite twigged to Towers managing to tie Harry up like that. Brilliant.
“I know you and Gavrik were – intertwined. Anything I should know?” AMAAAAZING.
I love how Harry acts when he works out Sacha is in his house.
I hate Peter Firth for managing to sell me on Harry again. HATE.
OH GOD I LOVE IT WHEN THEY’RE COMPETENT. Harry knowing things, Tariq putting the hard drive back together.
“I’m sorry, I realise it’s hardly the perfect night out.” “We’ve had worse.” HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
“Elena. I’ve been unfaithful to you. I’ve thought about this man every day, every night for many years.”
“These two are making eyes at each other. You and I should get a drink, leave them to their nostalgia.”
And still, Harry slash is virtually non-existent. How, people, HOW?
Is Max Brown rather tall or is Lara Pulver a bit short?
“It’s been at least six months until someone wanted to kill me. I was beginning to feel underappreciated.” That line could work for SO MANY people.
“Strange how the guardians of the Soviet state were the first to loot its corpse.”
Erin <3
“Ah, actually, it’s Miss Wallis tonight, Home Secretary.” OH.
UNDERPROMOTED YES.
So Dimitri gets shot! I thought he did *adds to fic notes file*
LOVED Harry elbowing the dude in the throat, btw.
Did Erin’s handbag have anything in it except a gun?
TARIQ <3
“Got to give it to him, he’s good.” “Yeah.” “I sort of hate him for it.”
Dimitri, there is TOTALLY something wrong with you.
I like how Dimitri got one over on Calum earlier and then proved to be utterly hopeless when he tried the same thing himself.
“They say the past is a foreign country.”
“One that’s difficult to leave, it seems.”
Yeah, you know what, Harry, she might have been hoping you’d reassure here there that this was over and done with. I mean, I know it’s not over in any way, but she may have been asking for reassurance. Just a bit?
Sacha being his son: still funny.
Re trailer: still D:, but just thought of something else: what if Tariq has done something bad (i.e. handed over the codes)? What if he’s the one who betrayed them and that's why he's calling in a panic? Oh God.